Love fades, but Holy Ribs is forever.

Forget the dozen roses, I want the dozen ribs!

If my life were a romantic comedy, I imagine the guy would be bringing buckets of wings on his left hand and ribs on his right hand. He would not need to make a romantic speech to apologize or declare his love because, well… ribs. But this is real life; my life is not a romantic comedy, more like romantic tragedy but without the romance. So, just tragedy. There is no guy, just me. But thankfully, there are ribs! Holy, ribs!

Let’s take it slow. Start with a little bit of the spiral sausage. Unfortunately, I would have to say that this is not the best sausage I have ever tasted. I had high expectations mainly because Holy Ribs was created by the people behind Holy Cow and Loobie Lobster. But perhaps, expectation is the root of all disappointment. Spiral sausage is decent, but it’s not like I would jump from a cliff to save it from falling. I would just let it go. Tastes bland and boring. But, my friend did enjoy it; she thought it tasted rather good. So I think you have to try it yourself. Love it or hate it? Find out yourself.

IMG_20170525_093705

The ribs were served with mashed potatoes and coleslaw which were perfectly balanced. The coleslaw has just the right amount of slight sweetness and savory from the dressing. Most coleslaw I ate here are quite flavourless but these taste awesome. Who knew vegetables could taste this good? Also, the mashed potatoes are creamy and buttery it just melts in your mouth. It does not show on the pictures, but I had seconds. It was that good. Eat it with the mushroom soup (which I will not admit I had, did I really eat that much?) and that is what I call happiness.

IMG_20170525_093729

Now for the main course! We ordered the US Prime Back Ribs. THIS is a dish that I would die for. Someone said all the best things in life are free, well they are wrong. Cause I had to pay for this. But it was worth it. I don’t know why they gave a knife, it’s not like we need it! The ribs fell off the bone like how I fell for these ribs at first taste. The ribs were succulent and full of flavor. As if the ribs weren’t bursting with flavour enough, they had a little extra sauce for dipping. But the way I see it is, the ribs are already perfect as they are. I’m gonna quote Bruno Mars on this, they are amazing just the way they are. Leave the extra sauce for the mashed potatoes and fries.

2017-05-25 02.20.33 2-640x426

Love fades, but barbeque is forever. Who needs love when you can have ribs.

Visit Holy Ribs at:
Jalan Panglima Polim 5 No.21, RT.1/RW.7, Melawai, Kby. Baru, Kota Jakarta Selatan, Daerah Khusus Ibukota Jakarta 12160

Follow me to stay updated on the next adventure!
http://www.instagram.com/theannisasabran
http://www.facebook.com/omgsofood

Leave a Reply

