Brunch is always a good idea, especially in One Fifteenth coffee

Forever is a long time, but I wouldn’t mind spending it with Chicken & Waffles by my side. Or Pulled Beef Sandwich. Better yet, both. It’s food, not love. I can have both.

I went to this coffee shop with no expectation at all. Most coffee shops I’ve been to have abysmal food and rely mostly on ambience. This one is not like a regular coffee shop, it’s a cool coffee shop (Props if you know what movie I am referencing to). My friends and I came on a Saturday on brunch time, and the place was packed! But I realized that people did not stay and chill, like most coffee shops. They do stay, but not too long. People mostly ate/enjoyed coffee then left. So I reckon, maybe… the food would be great. Maybe. (Note how I am still skeptical). But as I took my first bite, my whole world changed. You could say; I felt like Jasmine as Aladdin serenaded, “A whole new world, a whole new fantastic point of view”.

Where have you been all my life? How could I have lived all my life not knowing you? I could write 1.000 poems for the Chicken & Waffle but it still would not be enough to describe my love for this dish. This chicken waffle is SENSATIONAL. You have to go and try it for yourself. The waffles are perfectly cooked to a point where it must be the most photogenic waffles I’ve ever seen, beautifully combined with that crunch from the fried chicken. But what sealed the deal was the maple syrup. If it were a boyband, individually they are great but combine them all together then it becomes magic. Niall, Harry, Louis, Zayn and Liam are great but united they are phenomenal. Sorry not sorry, still not over One Direction break up. The savoury combined with the sweetness from the maple syrup creates this beautiful harmony in your mouth that deserves a standing ovation. Just the right balance between salty, sweet and awesome.

2017-06-04 10.28.03 1-640x426

Here’s the thing about sandwiches. I feel, the greasier the better. The more sauce added, the better. So forgive me that I “judged this sandwich by the cover”. I like my sandwich served with fries, not some pretentious salad. But One Fifteenth has been proving me wrong since the first bite. The salad was refreshing, the dressing had a bit of sweetness to balance the slight tanginess which paired gracefully with the main act: the pulled beef sandwich. The pulled beef sandwich is so packed in flavors you can taste the amount of dedication and love given to this meat. Lying under a bed of apple coleslaw paired with homemade brioche that tastes again, just like all the ingredients before. Just, right. If I had to choose between Chicken & Waffles or the Pulled Beef Sandwich I would say both. It’s like comparing apple and oranges. It’s not fair. So I say, choose both. Order both. You will not regret it.

2017-06-04 11.12.58 1-640x426

If you prefer the more subtle taste for brunch, you can always opt for potato hash (chicken). It’s got a generous portion of potatoes, onions, mushroom, toasts and bacon/chicken. It will fill your tummy up without overpowering your tastebuds too early in the morning. Perfect for those who prefer simplicity to let the true taste of ingredients shine without overpowered by excessive seasonings.

IMG_20170606_124716-640x375

There is also bacon burger that has a special bacon jam, and you can opt for beef or pork bacon. Served with the lovely homemade brioche bun, egg sunny side up and refreshing mesclun.

2017-06-06 12.22.02 1-640x426

Brunch is always a good idea, as long as it’s in One Fifteenth coffee.

Visit One Fifteenth Coffee at:
Jl. Gandaria I No.63, RT.2/RW.3, Kramat Pela, Kby. Baru, Kota Jakarta Selatan, Daerah Khusus Ibukota Jakarta 12130

Follow me to stay updated on the next adventure!
http://www.instagram.com/theannisasabran
http://www.facebook.com/omgsofood

Leave a Reply

