My Sweet Escape to Gormeteria, Bandung

In the food industry, we’re always looking for the next big thing. The new trend. The new most wanted dish. The new cool thing to eat and post on your social media (aren’t we all guilty of that?). Anything from galaxy coloured dessert, unicorn drinks, mozarella dishes to the latest salted egg craze. But one of the latest desserts in Bandung comes from a café that has successfully turned a street food dessert to an elevated form of cake. Pretty and cute, but does it taste as good as it looks?

2017-07-12-13-20-54-640x426

The place is packed in terms of parking space. A lot of people seem to come and go even though I came at an odd hour, around 3 pm, too late for lunch and too early for dinner. The atmosphere makes you feel relaxed but still has that cool, hip edge you would expect from a popular café place.  The place had quite a variety of dishes, including several main courses not just snacks. But I specifically came here to order the cake, so that’s exactly what I did.

2017-07-12-13-21-14-640x426

I ordered the Es Podeng Cake, a favourite from the list of cakes in the café. I was glad that it was available because some people claim that they were often out of stock due to the popularity of this dessert. Your first bite has to include every single layer of the cake, from the spongy cake, coconut frosting, peanuts, chocolate sprinkles, pink jelly and thin coconut strips. Surprisingly enough, it was not too indulgent but had the depth of flavour you want from a cake. My favourite part is how the coconut frosting seems to bind all the flavours together and the cake seems soft and had a fragrant pandan smell. Is it the best cake I have ever eaten in my whole entire life? No. Is it the worst? Definitely not. Is it one of the most unique cake concepts? Yes. I applaud the uniqueness and thought process of turning a traditional dish with a modern twist in an elegant form. Should try it at least once.

2017-07-12-13-19-59-640x426

There was also Thai Tea Cake which I found interesting but I was too full to eat one slice of cake alone, let alone two slices all by myself. Next time I come to this café, I would definitely review their Thai Tea Cake though. If it tastes half as good as it looks, I would be happy.

My friend ordered the Durian Layer Cake. Layers and layers of that durian crepe goodness. My verdict though, it was just ordinary. A little too dry and not moist enough. They had an additional sauce to be drizzled, which tastes good but did nothing much. In fact, it tastes more creamy compared to that strong durian taste you would want to compliment the durian layer cake. Not the worst thing in the entire world, but I prefer the Es Podeng Cake compared to the Durian Layer Cake.

2017-07-12-13-20-23-640x426

Gormetteria might not be the best tasting cake I have ever had. It is not even the second or the third. But their cake is powered on something better than taste: nostalgia. The power of nostalgia has the ability to transport you to the most powerful memory there is. Eating Es Podeng with your best friends while talking about everything and nothing, getting an Es Podeng on a hot summer day to fight off the heat or even hearing your mom say “Ini ibu bawain Es Podeng” (Translation: Here, mom brought you Es Podeng).

Nostalgia is a powerful thing, Gormetteria couldn’t have captured it even more beautifully with their Es Podeng Cake. A win for sure.

Gormeteria: Jalan Pasirkaliki No. 176, Pasir Kaliki, Cicendo, Pasir Kaliki, Cicendo, Kota Bandung, Jawa Barat 40173

Follow me to stay updated on the next food adventure!
http://www.instagram.com/theannisasabran
http://www.facebook.com/omgsofood

Leave a Reply

